RIP to Sonny Turner, the Last Surviving Member of ‘The Platters’ R&B Quartet

0 Posted by - January 14, 2022 - Gone But Not Forgotten, IN THE NEWS, LATEST POSTS

By Victor Trammell

Photo credits: Music Charts Magazine

Sonny Turner (pictured), the last surviving member of the Platters’ legendary R&B vocal foursome, died on Thursday, January 13th, at his Los Angeles home.

Turner passed away at the age of 83. On Sunday, January 16th, Soul TV’s “On the Sofa with Esther” program will include a tribute to Sonny Turner (born (September 24, 1939, in Fairmont, WV ). At 8 p.m. GMT, 3 p.m. EST, and 12 p.m. PST, SOUL TV will be hitting the air.

Turner’s death was announced Thursday afternoon by Turner’s friend and stage partner Michelle Johnson. Turner had battled throat cancer for a lengthy period of time. However, it resurfaced and grew through his body. The famed performer was brought to hospice care at his home on Wednesday, January 12th.

Turner succeeded Tony Williams as the Platters’ main singer in late 1959. Turner was singing at the time with The Metrotones. The group was performing on stage in Cleveland for star comedian Redd Foxx when the Platters role became available.

Turner and The Platters were also known as one of the early pioneers of the “Doo-Wop” sound. He was also good friends with Jackie Wilson, whom he viewed as his entertainment business mentor.

Sonny was good friends with a number of other well-known musicians, and he will be sadly missed.

No comments

Leave a reply